Model assessment · Vornado

Velocity CUBE 5S Whole Room Space Heater (2025) review

A floor-only Vornado fan heater with three heat selections, Fan Only, an adjustable temperature control, a manually swiveling base and a 1–12-hour auto-off countdown. The page-linked Use & Care and Product Support documents identify the manual family as VELOCITY CUBE 5S+2 / 5S+, while the current retail title omits the suffix; no SKU/revision crosswalk explains the difference.

Sources checked 2026-10-24 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Vornado Velocity CUBE 5S Whole Room Space Heater (2025), white body with black circular grille and swiveling base
Exact main gallery image from the 2025 retail SKU EH1-0240-43 listing; photo-versus-render status not stated by Vornado. Vornado
A useful fit for

A candidate for an attended indoor floor session where three selectable heat levels, separate Fan Only airflow, touch temperature adjustment, a hand-aimed base and a 1–12-hour off countdown suit the routine. Exact electrical input, body dimensions and setpoint range are not established by the reviewed manufacturer material.

The main tradeoff

The 2025 retail listing / SKU EH1-0240-43 is separate from the older EH1-0212-43 Velocity Cube 5S. This page links documents labeled VELOCITY CUBE 5S+2 / 5S+, and the manufacturer offers no SKU crosswalk; do not assume the models or manuals interchangeable. Vornado documents three heat stages, Fan Only and a manual swivel base, not powered sweep. It lists no measured room coverage, numerical clearance, wattage, dimensions, weight, remote inclusion or thermostat range in the reviewed current page/guide. Out of stock on the dated snapshot; stock may change.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Do you need three selectable heat levels and a separate Fan Only setting in an indoor floor heater?

The current retail page lists three heat settings and Fan Only; its directly linked Use & Care Guide describes High, Medium, Low and Fan Only. Fan Only circulates existing room air; it does not cool it. The guide labels the family 5S+2 while the current page calls the exact product 5S (2025), so the name suffix remains an open bridge.

Explore this need in the finder →
Would you use a hand-aimed swivel base instead of requiring an automatic powered sweep?

The directly linked guide calls the base a manual swivel base. That means the user redirects the whole heater by hand; no powered oscillation axis or sweep angle is documented. An essential horizontal sweep requirement should reject it.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is an automatic shutoff countdown up to 12 hours useful for a session you attend?

The page and directly linked guide list a one-to-twelve-hour timer; the guide explains it as auto-off. It does not document a later start. Vornado’s portable-heater FAQ still says to turn its heaters off when leaving or sleeping.

Explore this need in the finder →
Will you keep the heater on the floor and attended while it runs?

The linked Product Support sheet classifies the 5S+ family as a floor unit, and Vornado’s general portable-heater FAQ advises attended short-term use and no bathroom/wet placement. Tip-over and blocked-airflow shutoffs are safeguards, not permission for unattended heating.

Explore this need in the finder →

The Vornado Velocity CUBE 5S Whole Room Space Heater (2025), sole U.S. SKU EH1-0240-43, is a compact-looking floor heater with three heat stages, separate Fan Only, a hand-swiveling base and a 1–12-hour shutoff countdown. Its current page adds an important identity wrinkle: the retail page calls it “5S (2025),” while the directly linked use guide names the model family “VELOCITY CUBE 5S+2” and its Product Support sheet says “5S+.” The page and documents align on the main controls, but Vornado does not publish a SKU/revision crosswalk. Keep this exact 2025 listing separate from the older, similarly named EH1-0212-43 product.

What the current listing actually documents

Vornado’s page lists three heat settings and Fan Only, Auto-Climate Control, LED touch controls, bedtime display mode, locking controls, tip-over protection, automatic shutoff, cord storage and a five-year satisfaction guarantee. The directly linked guide lays out High, Medium, Low and Fan Only, temperature adjustment, the 1–12-hour timer, Nighttime mode and a control lock. It also describes a short fan-only cooldown after power-off. That is a useful set of adjustments for a user who likes a simple floor unit but wants more than a single heat switch.

The maker’s “whole room” and Velocity Tuned Heat wording describes its design intent, not an independently tested room-size result. The reviewed exact page does not provide a numerical coverage area, heating-rate protocol, measured temperature uniformity, wattage, voltage table, body dimensions, weight, cord length or a thermostat range. If you must fit a fixed watt ceiling, a measured niche, or a particular setpoint band, those facts are not established here; do not borrow another Velocity Cube’s specifications just because the names look close.

Hand aiming is not oscillation

The linked guide calls the base a manual swivel base. You point the unit where you want the airflow, then leave it there. No powered side-to-side sweep, movement angle or powered louver is documented for this SKU. That distinction matters if the heater is intended to cover changing seats across a room: a hand-adjusted base is a one-time re-aiming step, not a periodic sweep. If powered movement is essential, choose an exact model whose manual identifies the axis; an oscillation claim without direction is not enough to confirm a horizontal sweep.

Fan Only moves existing room air without heat; it is not an air conditioner. Likewise, the Auto-Climate label is not a published thermostat calibration. The guide says to adjust a temperature target, but it does not disclose a Fahrenheit range or explain how the setting selects the three heat stages. If you need a precise temperature band or known wattage for each selector, this documentation leaves the answer open.

Timer and night controls have boundaries

The documented one-to-twelve-hour timer counts down to switch the heater off; no delayed-start schedule is shown. When you press Power, the guide describes a roughly 20-second Fan Only cooldown. That is part of shutdown, not a separate timer that starts heating later. Nighttime mode turns off nonessential display lights, and the lock keeps settings from being changed. These conveniences can fit a supervised evening session, but Vornado’s portable-heater FAQ advises against unattended or long-duration use and says to switch the heater off when you leave or go to sleep. A countdown or dim screen does not override that instruction.

Placement and the remaining identity question

The product page links a Product Support sheet that classifies the 5S+ family as a floor unit with a polarized plug; the use guide says to position it with airflow clear and connect it to a standard grounded wall outlet. Vornado’s general heater guidance rules out outdoor, bathroom and similar wet-location use, and bars extension cords, surge protectors, multi-outlet adapters, external timers and smart plugs. The guide warns that the front grille is hot even though the case is described as cool-touch, and documents tip-over and blocked-airflow shutoffs. The inspected 2025 source set gives no model-specific numeric clearance, so follow the exact unit’s own label and supplied safety instructions rather than treating the small body as a reason to crowd it.

On the dated native collection snapshot, the single Default Title variant EH1-0240-43 / UPC 043765022184 was out of stock. That is a dated availability observation, not proof that the heater is discontinued. It is also not the same native listing as the earlier Velocity Cube 5S with Swivel Base, EH1-0212-43 / UPC 043765020463. The latter has its own earlier manual labeled 5S; do not merge the two products or transfer its dimensions, wattage, finish name or clearances to the 2025 SKU. The 2025 page’s own linked guides support the listed control functions but retain the unresolved 5S / 5S+ / 5S+2 suffix bridge.

Who should keep it on the shortlist?

Consider this exact 2025 listing if you want a floor-only, hand-aimed fan heater with three manually chosen heat settings, a separate Fan Only mode, touch adjustment, display dimming and an automatic shutoff countdown—and if those documented functions are enough without relying on unreported watts, dimensions, coverage or remote inclusion. It is a weaker fit when side-to-side powered motion, remote control, app operation, a confirmed electrical-input limit, a published body-size cap, a later-start schedule, a precise thermostat range, bathroom use or unattended operation is essential. Unknown values should not be treated as a match.

Before choosing between this SKU and the older EH1-0212-43, verify the model and manual supplied with the unit. Vornado has not explained whether the manual suffixes represent a documentation revision, a family label or a SKU-specific distinction. The exact Velocity CUBE 5S (2025) product page, its directly linked Use & Care Guide and Product Support sheet are the primary sources for the feature and identity limits above.

Key details at a glance

Installation formFloor-standing and movable
Exact manual permits bathroom useNo
Power-heat levels3
Separate fan-only modeYes
Timer behaviorThe guide directly linked from the exact page documents a one-to-twelve-hour user-set auto-off countdown in one-hour steps, with 0 cancelling. It does not document delayed start. Pressing Power runs a separate 20-second Fan Only cool-down, not a scheduled start. The manufacturer FAQ prohibits external timers and smart plugs.
Can the heater start on a timer?No
Fanless convection heatingNo
Heated-air directionwhole_room
FortPlug plug-area overheat cutoffNo
ALCI leakage-current plugNo
Control lockYes

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Check whether the room and routine line up.

Check room restrictions and full wall clearances first, then compare fan-only versus fanless heat, fit, app controls and the timer behavior the exact manual describes.