Model assessment · Heat Storm

Heat Storm WX Wall Heater review

A 1,000-watt maximum, wall-only infrared heater with two heat levels plus Eco operation, local delayed-on/off timing, a physical remote and child lock. This exact WX family is not the separately listed Wi-Fi variant.

Sources checked 2026-10-25 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Heat Storm WX wall heater, representative white family product image shared on standard listing
Official white WX-family product image used by the maker on the standard WX page as well as its Wi-Fi listing. The image does not show connectivity; maker does not disclose whether it is a photograph or rendering. Heat Storm
A useful fit for

A small dry room where a fixed wall installation, 1,000 W ceiling, physical remote and timer meet the need without adding phone setup.

The main tradeoff

The model's 1,000 W rating and slim wall body leave floor space open, but wall mounting is required and it is not the WX Wi-Fi listing; the page/manual do not publish a whole-room guarantee.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Do you need a wall-mounted WX without app control?

The A-1000-WX and A-1000-WXG are the standard, non-Wi-Fi WX variants; their manual documents wall use and local timer/thermostat functions.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can the standard WX be used as a movable floor heater?

No. The linked standard WX manual requires wall installation; unlike the non-Wi-Fi Phoenix, no floor feet are listed for this model.

Explore this need in the finder →
Will it fit a 1,000-watt limit and start later on its own?

The manual confirms a 1,000 W maximum and delay-on/off timer in hour increments; it is not Wi-Fi/app-controlled.

Explore this need in the finder →

The standard Heat Storm WX is a 1,000-watt wall heater for a dry small room where a permanent mounting position, physical remote and local controls matter more than app access. It offers 500- and 1,000-watt levels, a thermostat and a timer. The manual requires wall installation; this WX should not be treated as a compact floor portable or as the Wi-Fi sibling.

Exact model and the non-connected version

The current U.S. product record lists White A-1000-WX and Gray A-1000-WXG. Heat Storm’s support directory names the matching manual family HS-1000-WX and HS-1000-WXG, preserving the maker’s two prefixes rather than pretending the retail and support strings are identical. Its Wi-Fi product is a separate listing and manual, with the SKU A-1000-WX-WiFi. This review covers only the standard A-1000-WX family; the maker’s general copy mentions Smart Life in some places, but that app belongs to the separate Wi-Fi listing and is not an advertised feature of this exact model.

Heat Storm lists two heat levels, 500 and 1,000 watts, plus Eco operation. The body is listed as 13 × 4 × 17 inches and 6.1 pounds, with a 120-volt supply, 8.3-amp maximum draw and three-foot cord. A touchscreen thermostat, remote and control lock make adjustments easier without standing at the heater. The manufacturer gives 100 square feet as a primary-use figure and 500 square feet as supplemental guidance. Such estimates depend on insulation, drafts and layout; they should not be read as a guaranteed result or a reason to ignore the manual.

Wall installation and dry-room limits

Wall mounting is required. The manual says not to prop the unit against an object or use it with the grille vertical. Secure it as instructed, keep at least 4½ inches from nearby walls, ceiling and floor, and provide three feet of front clearance from curtains, cords, furniture and other combustibles. The cord needs to reach the wall outlet without crossing a rug, passing beneath furniture or being stretched through a walkway. A short wall heater may preserve floor area, but it still needs an appropriate installation location and maintenance access.

The power directions are similarly specific: plug directly into a proper 120-volt wall outlet, do not use an extension cord, power strip or surge protector, and put each heater/appliance on its own circuit. The listed full-power draw is 8.3 amps. The manual excludes outdoors, closets, wet or moist locations and places with flammable vapors; it also cautions that the body becomes hot and should not be touched while operating. The product page advertises a cool-touch exterior and a tip-over switch, but the manual warns against contact and requires wall mounting. I would not rely on a cool-touch claim or a tip-over switch in place of installation, clearance or supervision.

Local timer and thermostat

The standard WX does not require a Wi-Fi account or phone pairing. Its manual describes temperature adjustment at the unit and an hourly timer with delayed-on and delayed-off settings. It does not state a maximum timing span in the inspected instructions, so this review does not promise a 24-hour or other upper limit. Eco changes operation around the chosen setpoint; it is not a separate fan-only mode. The forced-air fan moves heat through the room and may be audible. If app control is essential, the Wi-Fi sibling adds Smart Life control and a 2.4 GHz setup, while keeping the same 1,000-watt class and wall-only form.

Where it wins and where to look next

Choose the standard WX when you can satisfy a fixed wall plan and want a modest maximum input with straightforward controls. It is a more focused fit than a floor portable when space below the wall needs to stay clear. It is not the fit for a wet bathroom, outdoor area, a room needing floor mobility, a 1,500-watt supplement, or an app-controlled schedule. If floor/wall flexibility and higher output matter more than a slim wall unit, the non-Wi-Fi Phoenix includes feet and has a 1,500-watt maximum; if phone schedules matter and 1,000 watts is sufficient, compare the WX Wi-Fi.

The White and Gray variants are finish options under one heater family; the maker links the same original image on both WX product listings. The rendered review image is therefore described as a representative white WX-family view, not a gray photograph and not proof of Wi-Fi capability. A native collection availability field and the product-page sold-out label did not agree in the captured snapshot, so confirm A-1000-WX or A-1000-WXG with the seller. The model is worth considering for its actual installation and control plan, not for a broad claim about the square footage it can heat.

Key details at a glance

Maximum listed input1000 W
US supply voltage120 V
Published body height17 in
Published body width13 in
Published body depth4 in
Published body weight6.1 lb
Installation formFixed wall installation
Exact manual permits bathroom useNo
Power-heat levels2
Listed wattage values500 / 1000 W
Separate fan-only modeNo
Can the heater start on a timer?Yes
Phone-app controlNo
Fanless convection heatingNo
Control lockYes

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Check whether the room and routine line up.

Check room restrictions and full wall clearances first, then compare fan-only versus fanless heat, fit, app controls and the timer behavior the exact manual describes.