Model assessment · Dr. Infrared Heater

Dr. Infrared Heater DR-968 Portable Space Heater review

Quartz-PTC dual-heating system with fan-forced airflow; two documented heat settings, ECO control, remote and removable filter.

Sources checked 2026-10-26 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

DR-968 portable space heater in official manufacturer product-gallery image; photo-versus-render status not stated

Official product-gallery image for DR-968; photo-versus-render status not stated.

Image source and model notes
Official Dr. Infrared Heater product-gallery image for DR-968; photo-versus-render status not stated. Dr. Infrared Heater
A useful fit for

Fits a dry indoor floor location with a grounded 120 V wall outlet when you want two documented heat levels, an ECO thermostat, remote and countdown shutoff, without a humidifier or documented fan-only mode.

The main tradeoff

No fan-only, delayed-start or numeric oscillation angle is documented. Manual and page disagree on weight (18 lb manual versus 20 lb product page), so weight remains unknown. The manual prohibits bathroom/outdoor use and does not expressly permit unattended operation.

On this page

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Does the DR-968 provide a named LOW wattage stage?

Yes. The exact manual states LOW is 1,000 W and HIGH is 1,500 W; ECO chooses between the stages.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can the DR-968 run a fan without heat or schedule a later start?

No separate fan-only or delayed-start mode is documented. The remote timer is a 1–12 hour shutoff countdown.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is a 12-hour shutdown countdown documented?

Yes. The remote timer turns off a running heater after a selected 1–12 hours; it is not permission for unattended use.

Explore this need in the finder →

The Dr. Infrared Heater DR-968 is a portable, fan-forced infrared-and-convection unit built around a two-setting, 1,500-watt heater. Its value is in straightforward heat and room-temperature control rather than a long list of specialized modes. The exact model number on the official manual is DR-968; the U.S. collection lists SKU DR-968. That pairing matters because adjacent Dr. Infrared models add different controls or humidifier parts.

Two power settings, plus automatic temperature control

The manual lists ECO, HIGH, LOW and Standby. HIGH is rated at 1,500 watts and LOW at 1,000 watts; ECO selects between them as the heater works toward its set temperature. The selectable temperature and a room-temperature display make this more than a fixed-output radiant box, but a thermostat cannot guarantee an even temperature throughout a drafty or open-plan room. Treat the company’s “dual heating” description as a product-design claim, not a measured advantage over another heater.

There is no documented fan-only setting. The blower is part of the heating system, so this is not a summer air mover and not fanless convection. The manual describes the two heat settings but no powered left-right sweep. If air movement without heat is important, choose a fan heater whose manual explicitly names fan-only; if you want to warm a stationary zone without blower airflow, compare an oil-filled radiator or a true convection panel instead.

Timer and maintenance are part of the choice

The remote duplicates the panel’s main controls, including an auto-off countdown adjustable from one to twelve hours. That switches a running heater off later; it does not schedule a delayed start, and it is not permission to leave the appliance unattended. The manual urges particular caution when a heater is left operating unattended. If unattended permission is an essential need, this model’s instructions do not grant it.

There is an electrostatic rear filter, which can be removed and vacuumed. The manual’s maintenance sequence involves removing screws from the filter bracket, so cleaning is more involved than simply wiping an exposed grille. Switch off, unplug and let the heater cool before cleaning. Keep the inlet and outlet clear; blocked airflow can trigger the safety cutoff and can also interfere with normal operation.

Electrical and room placement limits

This is a 120-volt, 60-Hz, 1,500-watt appliance with a maximum continuous draw listed as 12.5 amps. It comes with a grounded three-prong plug and is intended for a properly grounded outlet. The manufacturer says to plug it directly into the wall rather than an extension cord or relocatable power tap. Before adding a high-load heater to a circuit, consider what other equipment uses that circuit; an adapter does not make a connection safe.

The manual calls for at least three feet from combustible material in front and away from the sides and rear. Set it on a firm, dry, level surface where the cord will not cross a walkway. The tip-over switch and overheat cutoffs are protective features, not a reason to place it close to curtains, bedding or papers. Dr. Infrared says not to use this model outdoors or in bathrooms, laundry areas or similar wet locations, and warns against a location where it could fall into water. This is not a heater for bathroom duty.

Comparisons and who should choose it

Choose the DR-968 if you want a portable 120-volt heater with two named heat levels, ECO temperature control, a remote, a twelve-hour shutoff countdown and a removable filter. The DR-978 is a related two-setting model with its own nighttime control behavior; compare the exact manual rather than assuming that “hybrid” or “more heat” language establishes a performance advantage. The DR-968H adds a humidifier with a separate water bottle, but that feature brings distilled-water handling and monthly cleaning. The DR-998 also adds a humidifier and a rotatable outlet, at the cost of more components and upkeep.

The page and manual do not agree on the DR-968’s weight: the product page says 20 pounds while the manual’s specification gives 18. I leave weight out of the recommendation rather than selecting whichever number seems more convenient. This assessment is based on the U.S. product information and model-specific manual, not ownership or a heat-output test. Dr. Infrared’s coverage, sound and comfort statements are manufacturer claims, not measurements made for this review.

Dr. Infrared DR-968 product page · DR-968 manual

Key details at a glance

Maximum listed input1500 W
US supply voltage120 V
Installation formFloor-standing and movable
Exact manual permits bathroom useNo
Power-heat levels2
Listed wattage values1000 / 1500 W
More specifications and setup details
Separate fan-only modeNo
Temperature setting rangeECO set temperature up to 85°F (exact numeric lower bound not used)
Timer behavior1–12 hour countdown turns off a running heater; delayed start is not documented.
Can the heater start on a timer?No
Fanless convection heatingNo
Heated-air directionFan forced
Heating element descriptionQuartz infrared and PTC ceramic dual-heating system with fan-forced airflow (manufacturer description)

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Check whether the room and routine line up.

Check room restrictions and full wall clearances first, then compare fan-only versus fanless heat, fit, app controls and the timer behavior the exact manual describes.