Model assessment · Dr. Infrared Heater

Dr. Infrared Heater DR-123 Dual-Heating Portable Heater review

The exact DR-123 manual identifies a 120 V, 1,500 W quartz-infrared/PTC ceramic heater with High, Low and ECO operation, a 30–99°F thermostat range, remote and separate on/off scheduling. The manual—not generic promotional copy on the product page—sets its dry indoor use and clearances.

Sources checked 2026-10-26 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Dr. Infrared Heater official U.S. gallery reference for DR-123
Image source and model notes
DR-123 shown in its exact Dr. Infrared Heater U.S. product gallery; photo-versus-render status is not stated by the manufacturer. Dr. Infrared Heater
A useful fit for

A movable indoor floor heater for a buyer who wants both a countdown shutoff and a separately scheduled start, with a thermostat and remote. Its manual calls for a grounded outlet and three feet of combustible clearance on all sides; it is not a bathroom, laundry or near-water heater.

The main tradeoff

The 0–12 hour off countdown and delayed start answer different needs: one stops a running heater, the other starts it later. The manual does not establish the Low wattage, fan-only mode or built-in humidifier. Generic page copy mentions features from other models, so do not rely on that copy to override the DR-123 manual.

On this page

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Does DR-123 offer a separately scheduled later start?

Yes. Its exact manual distinguishes an ON start delay (up to 12 hours) from a running-unit OFF countdown.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does the exact manual confirm a built-in humidifier?

No affirmative humidifier claim is made in the exact DR-123 manual. The product page contains generic promotional text that appears to mix models, so humidifier compatibility stays unknown and cannot meet an essential need.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is an adjustable thermostat documented?

Yes. The DR-123 manual gives an adjustable 30–99°F setting range.

Explore this need in the finder →

The Dr. Infrared Heater DR-123 is a wheeled 1,500-watt floor cabinet for people who want a remote, digital thermostat and a choice between automatic ECO and manual High/Low heat. The U.S. row lists the exact SKU DR-123, and the linked manual cover names the same model. Its practical appeal is control and mobility, not a special room-coverage claim: move it to a level floor position, plug it into a grounded outlet and set the temperature you want.

Thermostat and timer details that affect real use

The manual rates the unit at 120 volts and 1,500 watts and gives a 30-to-99-degree Fahrenheit thermostat range. ECO automatically shifts between High and Low as it works toward the set temperature, but the manual does not state a wattage for the Low stage. That matters if you are choosing a heater around a measured electrical cap: the maximum is known, while the lower stage is not. Do not use a guessed half-power figure.

The remote controls both a 1-to-12-hour off countdown and a separately programmed on timer up to 12 hours. The remote needs two AAA batteries, which are not included. A delayed start and an auto-off countdown solve different scheduling problems; neither permits leaving the heater unattended in a confined space. The manual cautions against unattended use in those conditions, prohibits outdoor use, and requires a firm, flat, level surface. It also says to connect the heater to a properly grounded outlet and to keep combustibles three feet from the front, sides and rear.

Airflow and ongoing care

DR-123 is described as a quartz infrared and PTC fan-forced dual-heating system. The fan distributes warmed air; the manual does not document a separate fan-only mode. This is therefore not the right choice if you want air movement without heat or heating without fan-driven airflow. The model’s front grille and cabinet shape also differ from the DR-298’s fanless carbon radiant element: those two products should not be treated as interchangeable even though both are 120-volt portable heaters.

The rear filter can be removed and cleaned, with the manual advising at least monthly inspection/cleaning and more frequent attention in dusty conditions. That is a useful ownership difference from models whose manuals do not call for filter care. The product page’s broad claims about quiet operation and fast heating are manufacturer claims, not independent room tests; actual comfort will vary with drafts, placement and room layout.

Read the model-specific controls carefully

The archived product page contains some generic promotional text that describes other Dr. Infrared heaters, including features not confirmed by the DR-123 manual. This review relies on the exact DR-123 manual for operating facts; it does not treat unrelated fireplace or humidifier wording as a DR-123 feature. A built-in humidifier, a particular filter rating, numeric Low wattage and app control are not established for this model. If any is essential, choose a different product whose own exact documentation confirms it.

The DR-123 is a reasonable comparison for a dry indoor room when 120-volt plug-in heat, rolling portability, remote control, a broad thermostat range and both timer directions matter. It is not a wall heater, it is not for bathrooms or outdoor use, and its filter requires care. Compare the DR-968 for a better documented 1,000-watt Low mode and the DR-991 if an integrated humidifier and fireplace presentation are the actual priorities; the latter needs distilled water and has its own assembly and maintenance routine.

Sources: Dr. Infrared Heater DR-123 product page; DR-123 owner’s manual.

Its footprint can be rolled rather than carried, but mobility is a convenience for moving the heater while it is off and cool, not a reason to pass the cord through a doorway or under a rug. Plan one stable operating spot close to the grounded outlet and keep the cord out of walking paths. The available sources do not publish the exact Low wattage, so a shopper comparing a running-cost limit should treat that value as unknown rather than estimate it from the 1,500-watt maximum.

Key details at a glance

Maximum listed input1500 W
US supply voltage120 V
Installation formFloor-standing and movable
Exact manual permits bathroom useNo
Power-heat levels2
Separate fan-only modeNo
More specifications and setup details
Temperature setting range30–99°F
Timer behaviorExact manual documents 0–12 h off countdown and a separate delayed ON start up to 12 h.
Can the heater start on a timer?Yes
Fanless convection heatingNo
Heated-air directionFan forced
Heating element descriptionQuartz infrared plus PTC ceramic dual-heating system with fan-forced airflow; exact model manual

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Check whether the room and routine line up.

Check room restrictions and full wall clearances first, then compare fan-only versus fanless heat, fit, app controls and the timer behavior the exact manual describes.