Model assessment · Comfort Zone

Comfort Zone CZ12809 tower space heater review

A floor-standing Comfort Zone tower with a remote, 50–90°F digital thermostat, ambient-temperature display, Fan Only, ECO mode, Low/High stages and 1–12-hour automatic shutoff. Exact page lists 750 W Low / 1,500 W High; ECO targets 68°F without a separate wattage rating.

Sources checked 2026-10-26 · Our editorial approach

The exact page displayed Sold Out; prior collection snapshot marked available, so current stock is unresolved.

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Comfort Zone CZ12809 manufacturer image showing the exact tower configuration and visible controls.
Image source and model notes
Comfort Zone image linked from the exact CZ12809 listing; its image type is not specified. Comfort Zone
A useful fit for

A shopper who wants a remote-controlled indoor floor tower with Fan Only, a digital 50–90°F setpoint, documented 750 W Low / 1,500 W High and up-to-12-hour auto-off.

The main tradeoff

The exact page does not publish a swing angle, full assembled footprint, voltage, plug, circuit, clearances, water-area approval or unattended-use permission; the manual index has no exact row. High remains 1,500 W; stock indicators conflict.

On this page

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Would indoor floor placement, a remote and Fan Only fit?

The exact page lists a freestanding tower, remote and separate Fan Only; this moves room air, not cool air.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do the Low and High stages fit your watt limits?

The page states 750 W Low and 1,500 W High; ECO has no separate published wattage.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you need a shutoff timer or a later start?

The exact page states 1–12-hour automatic shutoff; no later start is documented.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is a known swing angle essential?

The exact page describes oscillation but no angle.

Explore this need in the finder →

The Comfort Zone CZ12809 is the more control-rich of two similar 30-inch tower listings in this Comfort Zone group. Its exact U.S. product page describes a digital thermostat, an ambient-temperature display, remote control, fan-only mode, oscillation, ECO mode, two stated wattage stages and a 1-to-12-hour shutoff timer. That is a useful package if you want to make small adjustments from a chair. It is not a measured whole-room-heating claim: the listing gives no square-foot rating or independent performance test.

Comfort Zone CZ12809 manufacturer image showing a dark digital tower heater and its remote control
Image source and model notes
Comfort Zone image linked from the exact CZ12809 listing; its photo-or-render status is not specified.

Useful controls, with a specific low-stage figure

The product page lists High at 1,500 watts and Low at 750 watts. It also describes ECO as a mode that aims to maintain 68°F. I would not count ECO as a third fixed wattage stage: the page does not state an ECO wattage, and it describes that mode in terms of a temperature target. If you need two explicitly quantified heating levels, the CZ12809 has them. If a 750-watt ceiling is essential for the appliance’s maximum input, it does not qualify; 750 watts is its Low setting, not its maximum.

The digital thermostat covers 50–90°F, the display can show ambient temperature, and a remote is included. Comfort Zone says the heater cycles around the selected temperature. The separate Fan Only option moves air without producing heat; it is not cooling. The listing describes horizontal oscillation but gives no angle for this exact model, so a shopper who needs at least a particular sweep should not substitute an angle from another tower. The 30-inch name is a helpful size cue, but the inspected page does not provide a full assembled-dimensions drawing or the safe clearance around it.

Where this model fits—and where it does not

Choose it when you want a portable floor tower, digital temperature setting, a remote and distinct Fan Only operation. The low 750-watt setting offers a lower named stage than the 900-watt Low of the mechanical CZ12822, while the CZ12809 still reaches 1,500 watts on High. A wide open room, poor insulation or a particular temperature rise cannot be promised from those electrical figures. The maker gives no numerical coverage guidance, and neither the product listing nor the imagery is an independent room-heating test.

The 1-to-12-hour timer is described as automatic shutoff. Do not treat it as a scheduled start or as permission to run the heater while away. The exact page does not establish a delayed-start feature, and a timer is not a substitute for supervision. If delayed start is the key requirement, compare the distinct CZ12835 family listing, whose page says its timer can schedule a start; that model does not publish the same low-wattage information.

Safety and setup questions still need the exact instructions

Comfort Zone states that the CZ12809 has a stay-cool housing, tip-over cutoff, overheat protection and an ETL listing. Those are manufacturer claims, not independent verification of every hazard or a substitute for operating directions. I found no CZ12809 entry in the previously archived Comfort Zone owner-manual index. The exact product page does not settle supply voltage, plug type, branch-circuit rating, extension-cord restrictions, numerical clearances, bathroom or near-water use, or unattended operation. Those gaps do not make the SKU identity uncertain, but an unknown electrical or placement condition cannot satisfy an essential requirement.

The preserved collection snapshot marked this SKU available, while the exact product page displayed Sold Out when checked. Stock therefore remains uncertain and can change. The maker’s one-year warranty statement is not a promise of present inventory. No price is used as a reason to choose this heater.

Bottom line

The CZ12809 is a good fit on paper for a shopper who wants remote operation, a 50–90°F digital thermostat, fan-only air and a known 750/1,500-watt pair with a shutoff countdown. It is a weaker choice when a confirmed swing angle, delayed start, exact outlet/circuit compatibility, room-coverage rating, water-area approval or unattended-use permission is essential. Compare it with the separate CZ12824 rather than treating similar 30-inch names as one model: the CZ12824 page publishes a 50-degree sweep but omits the CZ12809’s specific wattage figures. Check the exact CZ12809 listing and its model instructions before buying or operating.

Key details at a glance

Maximum listed input1500 W
Published body height30 in
Installation formFloor-standing and movable
Power-heat levels2
Listed wattage values750 / 1500 W
Separate fan-only modeYes
More specifications and setup details
Temperature setting range50–90°F (10–32°C)
Timer behaviorExact page states auto-off 1–12 hours; later start not documented.

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Check whether the room and routine line up.

Check room restrictions and full wall clearances first, then compare fan-only versus fanless heat, fit, app controls and the timer behavior the exact manual describes.